Sixteen A: What is Culture?

12 Sep

For this assignment you will interview 3-4 other students in class to find an answer to the question: How do you define culture? When complete, respond to the following questions in the comments section of this post: 1. What is culture? 2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them? (2 paragraphs)

24 Responses to “Sixteen A: What is Culture?”

  1. sik9490 September 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    What a few people define culture as:
    -Culture is what makes you who you are and allows you to differentiate right or wrong depending on what you believe.

    -A belief system or a moral system for a group of people or an individual.

    -What you believe in or what you are raised to believe and the morals you have.

    -What you live in.

    I remember one time I went over to a friends house and her family’s culture is so different from anything I’ve ever experienced.. But I think that if you spend maybe just a few days with them then you will understand their culture and why they believe in what they believe in, and you might be able to adjust to it and be more comfortable wit h it.

  2. sbuitoni September 13, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    1) I think culture is the beliefs and influences it brings on a person. The way that person was raised in, the environment, and the people around them.

    2) I was conflicted with some African beliefs because I just didn’t understand why they would wear cages on their lips or think its attracted to stretch your lips to the point where you can’t even talk. I think if I learned more about their culture I could become more open minded and respect their ideas.

  3. Robin September 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    1) What is culture ?
    Timmy: “A set of rules that people are born to believe.”
    Melisa: “How you were raised and the customs you believe and your morals.”
    Corey: “What you live in.”
    2) Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?

    A time that I have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture was when I moved to Florida. In the suburbs of Florida, everyone thinks it’s okay to just stay home and do nothing all day. I was raised in New York City with my family and I had always been doing something. I could not get accustomed to their lifestyle, or their “culture.” It was so boring.

    If I could learn more about that culture I do not believe it would be possible for me to understand them. I believe so because I lived there for 2 or 3 years and none of it ever made sense to me. Why they acted so closed off from the rest of the world and didn’t seem to like being social, or why everything they did for fun seemed to be pointless. I could not understand any of it, and it was so strange to me.

  4. josephmsimonee September 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    1.) “Where are you raised and the society around you. Also the beliefs of your people”
    “What shapes your personality.Who you are, you beliefs.
    “Different beliefs, religions, and ideas”
    2.) When I went vacation I saw that there were gun shops everywhere. It was weird for me because I almost never see those around where I live. Then I realized what might not seem normal to me may seem normal to other people.
    My opinion on culture is I believe it defines your personalty. Where you grow up and the people around you will affect you and your personality.

  5. Kassandra Diaz September 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    I went around class and asked “What is culture to you?” mostly everyone answered the same thing. One person said “Culture is what shapes personality for someone”. Another person said “Culture is what you live in, and where you live”. And lastly, another person said “Culture is who you are, what you do, why you do it, and what you believe.” I personally believe culture is how you see the world and the point of view you live in. For example, where you live can cause you to act similar to the way people do there.

    I used to live in Puerto Rico, and I moved here when I was 9 and didn’t go back until recently. When I did go back to Puerto Rico, I felt so different and out of place. Everything over there is so different, the way they dress, the way they act, and how they were. I didn’t understand why when ever someone saw you eating they would come up to you and say “Buen probecho” which basically means “Enjoy your food”. I was in Puerto Rico for 2 months this summer and 2 months made me to be used to their culture. When I got back to NYC I was in shock because of how different everything and everyone is. I was able to understand the culture of Puerto Rico because I had lived there before but when I did go to visit after a really long time of not being there, everything was so different, and it took some time to get used to.

  6. sar9647 September 13, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    After talking with some people to understand their opinion about “what is culture”, I reached a conclusion. I think that culture is the basis of everyones lifestyle and personality. Culture is something that embodies a person and personifies them as who they are. People are not just born into a culture either, but they assimilate into it. People learn about the culture through experience and eventually come to understand it.

    This summer I went to Kosovo with my family to see my relatives because mostly all of them live there. When I got there it was completely different from America. Everyone owned BMW’s, Caddies, and Mercedes. They also had lots of party’s and everyone smokes cigarettes. During my visit, many people called me American just because I was from america but nobody called my mom and dad that because they were from there. All in all that was my experience with culture!

  7. skm0263 September 13, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I interviewed 3 people, Stephanie, Robin and Timmy. I asked them what they thought culture was. Stephanie said that culture is is what you believe in and what shapes you. Robin says your culture is your personality and how you act. Timmy said that your culture shapes your personality.

    One time that i was faced with someone else’s culture was this summer at my summer job. i was working with a Muslim man and he was telling me about the kuran, his bible. I didn’t understand much of what he was telling me because i didn’t know anything about his culture.

  8. thomasmontalbano1 September 13, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    As I went around the class, the answers for “what is culture?” were all similar. One person said that culture is “how you see the world”. Someone else said that culture is only “where you live”. Another person said that culture is who you are, what you do, why you do it and what you believe. I think culture is what teaches you how to live.

    I personally feel conflicted by a lot of different cultures. It is possible to understand other cultures if you experience them. I took a 3 week trip to Italy a few years ago and their culture is different from one I am used too. But living their for a while eventually helped my understand it more and I got used to it.

  9. Aidan Northington September 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    1. I think that culture is every principal, belief, and expression that has a significant impact on your life, thrown into one word.

    2.i felt conflicted on 9/11 because muslim extremists killed innocent people for not being muslim. i dont think I could understand their culture because not all muslims are like that, just a select few.

  10. sjo9572 September 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Culture is what defines you but also what you define. It is who you are what you do and why you do it. What you believe in and how you see the world. Your outlook on life, what is acceptable and unacceptable. You are part of a culture which you define. It shapes who you are but you shape your culture. There are many parts of someones culture from the way they act or speak to what they eat or what they’re favorite activities are.

    When I first immigrated to the United States life completely changed. People acted differently. People cared about different things. I was used to knowing everybody around and now i didn’t know anybody. The only people I met were through other people and school but in the Dominican Republic people in the street would always become friends.

    Children in the Dominican Republic usually did not have many electronics but in New York City all the kids had whatever they wanted. I also noticed very quickly how people did not eat the same food. Not only were all the brands of all kinds of food different but people did not usually buy the same food.

  11. Dhensel September 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Answers from the interview:
    1. I think culture is the people around you and where you grow up.
    2. Culture is different people’s beliefs, religions and ideas.
    3. Culture is what shapes your personality, who you are and your beliefs.
    When I lived in India I did feel a little conflicted by their cultural beliefs. In India the cow is a sacred animal and it is a sin to eat beef. I had found it a little strange since in my country, our staple diet consists of beef. But I do think that if i had more time to learn about their culture, it would have been possible to understand them.

  12. sks7033 September 13, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Kathy Salce

    Interviewed: Amanda N.
    How do you define Culture?

    “Everything you do the way you dress, the food you eat. The way you think about things. What you find acceptable. Basically, your out look on life. The way you live each day is based on your culture.”

    Interviewed: Yamil
    How do you define Culture?

    “Culture is what you are raised to believe in and accept. How you grow as a person is part of culture. The basic grounds of your personality. Describes your background and the person you are.”

    My opinion: Kathy Salce
    Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?

    A time in which I might have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture, is for example the terrorist or extremist around the world. There mind sets on life and their morals are not in coordination with the fundamental beliefs of human rights. I belief that if i were to fully learn about what they do and why it can help, but i think t would be difficult .

  13. Stephanie Martinez September 13, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Culture can be defined in many different ways. These four interviewees each had their own views on culture. Generally, culture was mostly defined as what shapes you. What shapes your personality, your lifestyle, and what you believe in. Also, that you must be taught your culture that you will assimilate as you grow up, you aren’t just born into it.

    While we were watching the movie “Babies” yesterday, I was conflicted with the thought of a mother wiping her son’s feces on her leg and cleaning it up with corn. I felt it was very unsanitary. But I was reminded of the troubles faced by many people in africa, like not having bathrooms and not having the advantage of freshwater all the time by Ms. Fay. Then I drew back my feeling towards what the mother did and it helped me to understand why certain cultures believe that certain things should be done. I just needed to learn more about it.

  14. san4109 September 13, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    1. How do you define culture?
    Amanda: Everything you do, the way you dress, the food you eat, the way you think about things and what you find acceptable. Basically your outlook on life and the way you live each day is based on your culture.

    Sammie: Culture is the ideas and beliefs of the areas you are from

    Salina: Standards that society obeys

    Aidan: Principals and beliefs that define your lifestyle

    2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?
    I felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture when I ate at a Korean restaurant and I didn’t like a lot of the food. Certain meals have to be eaten in a certain order and I didn’t enjoy all of these foods. If I spent time in Korea, I might be able to understand why they eat these foods, but I don’t think I would like them anymore. In many cultures fermented food is considered a delicacy. However to me, it’s something that has been purposely “rotted”. I don’t judge people who enjoy these foods, however they do not satisfy me.

  15. ssk6962 September 13, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Culture can be considered the beliefs and ideas that you live your life by. Culture can also be considered, in a very simple way, what you believe in. If you are thinking about the culture of a larger group, culture is the belief or moral system of a certain group of individuals. I feel that culture and personality can be linked, because culture can teach you the way you are “meant to act.”
    I have had conflicted feelings on the culture of Jamaica. The main reasoning for my feelings is that people of the LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, and Questioning) community in Jamaica are threatened a lot of the time. Part of the culture is about having very distinct gender roles, and what a guy/girl should be. I suppose if I learned more about the people in favor of gay rights in Jamaica, I might feel more okay with their culture. This is not to say American culture is any better, for example politicians keep saying lesbians and gays are abominations.

  16. sjs5280 September 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I interviewed other students in my class and although they are different people, they all contained similar answers. Amanda N. said, “Culture is everything you do. it’s they way you dress, the food you eat, the way you eat it. It’s also the way you think and what you find acceptable. It’s your outlook on life and the way you live each day based on your culture.” Melisa G. simply ‘stated that, “Culture is how your raised and the customs you have.” And Korie expressed, “Culture is a belief, everyone has one, like being catholic. Depends on where you live, the people you met and how they change your life.”

    I personally have felt conflicted when presented with another culture. Usually it would be a religion trying to define or justify what is considered “right” or “wrong”. I do believe that if I were to try to place myself into that type of culture and can be able to look at their point of view and agree with what they believe to be right. However, once i step out of that situation after fully understanding what it means to be that culture I will still form my opinions, it would just be a more educated one.

  17. Steve Fermin September 14, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Sammy: (Culture is) Where you’re born and how that society works. You can choose to accept this or reject it.
    Rex: (Culture is) A lifestyle, where you’re born and how you fit into a group and are a part of it.
    Stephanie: (Culture) Makes you who you are and allows you to differentiate right from wrong where you live.

    To me, culture is a belief system or a moral system for a country, a group or even for an individual. I’ve never really been conflicted with the ideas of another culture, because I’m usually open-minded when it comes to the ideas of others and I rarely ever see a culture as conflicting with my ideas.

  18. ssp8114 September 14, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    1. What is culture?

    -A few students said they feel that culture is something you experience, yours beliefs and influences. Another said culture makes up who you are, how you dress, what you eat, your morals, your standards and what you see acceptable in society. Another student said culture is principles and beliefs you live your life by. I believe that culture is standards that society obey by.

    2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?

    -I have felt conflicted when i found out Muslims are not allowed to eat pork. And i didn’t understand why they weren’t allowed to do so. If I could learn more about this culture, I would want to know why Muslims don’t associate with pigs, whether it symbolizes something wrong or it brings bad luck. If I knew the reason why, I would understand and be more open minded to the purpose of there culture.

  19. stl4971 September 14, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    The four responses that I got from my classmates were relatively the same, everyone agreed that culture is the standard you are held to. Being held to this standard is how we develop our morales. The one general difference between the different responses I got was weather you live by the set rules of your culture or based on your actions which culture you belong to.

    One time that I felt conflicted by other cultures was when I saw graffiti for the first time. I thought it was wasn’t real art. I had never seen much of it before, but when I took time to actually look at the art work and skill needed to be able to paint like that I realized that this was how certain people chose to express them selves.

  20. smg3513 September 14, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    1. Amanda – Culture is everything you do , the way you dress , the food you eat , how you eat etc.

    Robin- What you were raised to believe.

    Tim- Culture is how you were brought up and the morals you have because of it.

    Rex- A Life style , not something you were born with but something you learn.

    Last summer I went to the Dominican Republic and it is so different from the way we live here. I was so uncomfortable because the light sometimes goes off and they are ok with that. In NYC I’m usually on the computer alot so it was a big chance for me. Also in some parts they go to bed so early and in new york i go to sleep really late over the summer. I went for two months because i had not been for 8 whole years. Honestly it was so hard to get used to their life. I understood where they were coming from but with everyday that went by I got sad I had to leave.

  21. sjv0367 September 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    After speaking to a few students overall they believe culture consist of beliefs, religion, and principles lied by. I myself agree but I think culture also includes outside influences, experiences, and the period of time. When I met my friend Inzatau who had a sister the same age. Instantly, I thought they were fraternal twins so I asked her, but she answered no. She told me they were the same age, live together, and have the same dad. I was so confused at that point, until I realized they have different mothers. I was confused because it was so rare but Inzatau had two moms and one dad. Her father was in a polygamous relationship. Honestly, if I were to learn about it and see how it works u would be able to understand it. But I must say I may not ever take part in it even if i understand it.

  22. drigo95 September 15, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Culture is what defines someone. It’s the social norms that you are raised with and also make up your beliefs. My family’s culture in Peru believe that one must always be with their family. I agree that family comes first, but I feel to have a need for independence.

  23. shinyg4 September 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    2. One time in my life that I have felt conflicted with another culture had to do with my religious beliefs. The most world known religion that comes to someone’s mind is either Christian, Muslim, and Jewish. I’m Jehovah’s witness but when I tell that to someone, they have no idea what that is. One person, particular, said, “Oh that’s the religion when people annoying every week and ring on your doorbells” (a Muslim said that).

    Comments like that really bring me down since it makes me feel like my religion is a bad one that isn’t better compared to other religions. Even though Jehovah’s Witnesses are in 265 different lands, it still doesn’t seem to be superior to other religions based on their viewpoint.

    If I was in their side of the conflict I probably would understand why they believe in what they do. To them, their beliefs make sense to them so I think that if I was brought up to live in a certain way, I would take other religions as something lower than mines. I think that that kind of thinking is inside someone’s mind at one point or another.

  24. syr4665 September 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I asked four of my peers how they would define culture in their own words. For the most part all their answers consisted of the same thing. Some said that culture is the base of a person’s personality and what you believe in. Another one said that culture is someone’s background and how they are raised. Some went even more specific describing culture as what you eat and your daily routine.

    I felt conflicted by cultures when I went to the Dominican Republic, everyone is so much more different. The viewed me as an American and described my routine and my personality as no where near theirs. It made me wonder, like maybe we don’t just live in different countries,even though we have the same background our culture was different. Culture as in the sense that our values were different as well as our routines and our views on certain things. This was mind blowing to me because before I had arrived i had thought we all shared the same culture when in reality we were very different. It helped me learn a lot of their culture and helped me understand how different it was compared to mine. Yet i still don’t think i understood them, i understood our differences but I feel that only by being apart of the culture your whole life can you really understand it.

Leave a Reply

