Sixteen B: What is Culture?

15 Sep

For this assignment you will interview 3-4 other students in class to find an answer to the question: How do you define culture? When complete, respond to the following questions in the comments section of this post: 1. What is culture? 2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them? (2 paragraphs)

10 Responses to “Sixteen B: What is Culture?”

  1. Elijah Johnson September 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Many people have different ways to so what is culture i got 3 different answers. Sara said that culture is something that shapes a specific group. Ms Levy said that culture is a set of various that a group lived by. Also Erika thinks that culture a belief that shapes you and make you different.
    It was during the 9 11 attack. It was a bad thing because it was not helpful for my lifes and such as. If i knew there culture better i will understand them because of how they hate use

  2. stj2913 September 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    What I think culture is, is the diversity of other heritages of different religions around the world.

  3. spm4793 September 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    What Is Culture?

    I asked several of students in my class room this question and they each responded differently.

    “Culture is things you believe in”
    -Ashlee Gore

    “Things that describe you or your country, Or choose to follow”
    -Justeen

    “The way that it shapes you”
    -Tomas

    On September 11, 2001 the twin towers were bombed by some terrorist.

  4. ser6560 September 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Most of the people that interviewed said that culture was something that describes you. Also some said that it was some thing that you believe in, something you go by like going to church or religious acts.

  5. kylespann September 15, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Part One:
    After my interviews I have to come to the conclusion that the true definition of ones culture can consist f several things. One example being the way someone were raised: whether it is the language they speak, what they believe in or where they come from. Another example would be self expression: such as, the way one dresses and the way one behaves. Culture can be the definition of a group of people and how they behave.

    Part Two: (Describe a time when you were conflicted by another cultures beliefs)
    In society smoking weed can be considered appalling to most, but to others it is a way of life.Some people believe that marijuana should be considered a drug along the lines of crystal math or crack cocaine; While those that rebel and use the substance believe that it is simply a plant that can be smoked much like tobacco. depending on how you were raised either of these arguments sound valid.
    After talking to a friend of mine who used to smoke I asked him a couple simple question. “Why did you start smoking?” and “Why did you stop smoking?”. His answer to the first question was because he wanted to experience it and after trying it he enjoyed the effects and the feeling of it. He said it was something to do while socializing much like drinking. When I asked him why he stopped smoking he said because he noticed that when active he became quick winded very fast. He also began to talk about a specific event when he was in school, and there was a play that broke down all of the harmful effects of marijuana both long term and short term and he realized that the high just wasn’t worth what could happen. He learned a lot from this experience and later changed his life because of it.

  6. Iris x3 September 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    1.What is culture?

    In a college-leveled book about Anthropology, the definition of Cultural anthropology is the study of human ideas, values, and behaviors. When I asked a few people how they defined culture, their thoughts showed the same ideas but they were said differently. Thomas thought that culture is the way you act socially and that culture shapes you. Erika says, “[Culture is] a way of living that shapes you and makes you who you are. It defines you.” Julian says that culture is who you are; he also said that the environment you live in shapes people. I think culture is the way we live. I also think that culture helps us be who we are based on where we live and culture helps make you different from everyone else.

    2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?

    Even though I barely remember where I was, for the past years, 9/11 is the event where I felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If I was part of their culture, I would possibly understand them more. For example, after Osama Bin Laden was killed, a lot of Americans were so happy and relieved about him dying. If I was in his culture I would probably be really upset because I would understand him and why he made those actions.

  7. shinyg4 September 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    1. Culture to one student in Sixteen B, is a belief that defines you and makes you different from others whether it’s good or bad. Another student has said that culture is things that you and your country follow. In whole, culture seems to be defined as a belief that a a group of people live by. Different cultures have different beliefs and their actions are result of being brought up/ taught this culture.

    2. I have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture before in terms of race. This one time, I met someone that was cocasion, born and raised in USA. She asked me what nationality I was and thinking that she might never heard of Sri- Lanka, I just said that I was asian. In turn, she told me that I couldn’t be asian, I don’t look chinese or japanese, or korean. But technically I was, and I told her what country I’m from.
    I understood why she first thought that I couldn’t be asian. Usually in America, the most well known countries in Asia are China, Japan, and Korea. It’s also probably stereotypes that people make about Asia. That Asians have a specific eye shape and hair texture. This may have grew on her so that it was the first thought that came to her mind.

  8. ser6886 September 16, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Well, my definition of culture is a belief that defines you and it could be good or bad. We all believe in different things and follow different things. Here were some of the responses I took down asking others, what is culture? Julian’s response was” it is who you are and what environment shapes you.” Iris’ response was it is ”the way you live, who you are. It shapes you. Makes you different from others.” Thomas’ response was” the way you act socially and shapes you for what you do.”

    A time I felt that I conflicted by culture was and still is, my mom’s religion, Christian. I believe in God but, to her, it blocks a lot of things that I want to do. Like, for example, she does not like me dancing because it is supposedly liking the things of the world. She will not let me hang with my friends and I have to sneak around to hang with them. I try to see her point because she saids I should a girl of God and she wants me safe but, I want to have fun. I am young and that is how I want to act. I want to have fun!

  9. sth3952 September 16, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    What is culture?
    How do sixteen year old define, culture? As I interviewed, my classmates there was different view towards the word “culture”, such as it is a belief and moral you grew up in, your actions are affected by culture, how you were raised in society and more. But how I define culture is how i was raised. My family is in Colombian and for me, even though i was born in American, i would consider myself as a Colombian. As every Spanish families I was taught to respect elderly, eat certain traditional foods, speak the language, go to church and more. My definition of culture was how one was raised into society and its beliefs.

    Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?

    Even though I was born in the States, i still knew my roots. But living in different society made me more of a rebellious of my culture . It became clear to me that even though I still was considered as a colombian by my family, as i went to go visit Colombia i saw how my friends acted towards their way of a Colombian Culture. I grew up being loud, speaking my mind, in this “culture” i had in the States. But in Colombia, they are very quiet, they respect a lot church, by going to catholic school, instead of having regular holidays, they also have religious holidays. It is every easy to understand the Colombian culture just like every Spanish country. The respect their religion, and a lot of their daily lives mostly revolve around religion.

  10. justeenr September 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    1. What is culture?
    Pablo-Things that describe you & your beliefs.
    Shiny-Beliefs that you grew up with & are taught.
    Erica-A belief that defines you & makes you different from others wether its good or bad
    I think culture means beliefs you have to follow for your country

    2. Describe a time that you have felt conflicted by the beliefs of another culture. If you were able to learn more about that culture, would it be possible to understand them?
    When i went to Massachusettes & Maine to visit best friends. The first time i went i
    realized how different it is than in New York. It’s not much of a difference but. The way they dress & party, was SO different from living in new york. So i felt left out because of the way i dress & how i party. I kind of felt like an outsider..

Leave a Reply

