Life in a Day Reflection

13 Jan

What does the “Life in a Day” film say about how life is lived/experienced around the globe in a single day? What did you find interesting about the film? What did you find shocking/surprising? Post your response as a comment.

20 Responses to “Life in a Day Reflection”

  1. rachelvicioso January 13, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    In one day, one person can be having the best day of their life while someone else can be having the worst. I find this surprising because i never really thought about how other people on the other side of the word is doing or even if my friends are having a great day. I also never think about what other people may be afraid about or about what they love. I never thought people would like the same things has someone half way across the world from them.

  2. Francis Beirne January 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    The film, “Life in a Day”, showed me that people can all around the world can live similar but can each do it completely different. And it didn’t just show just one person’s video or videos from just one country, they showed videos from Africa, the America, Australia, Europe and Asia. That is one of the things that I found interesting is that they showed a baby giraffe being born. The one thing that surprised me was that there was not any sections of clips for Family and Friendship.

  3. dylan zimmer January 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    The thing that ended up surprising me the most about the video was how honest it became by the end. I felt like it started off showing mostly just happier things even in the poorer countries, but that this changed throughout the video. I think that’s because it started off by showing people on a smaller scale in their houses with their families, but when it stopped documenting just a single person and more just events it got a lot sadder. The best example of this is the love parade at the end, which seemed to be a nice event but obviously got way out of hand.

  4. Sammy K-L January 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    “Life In A Day” showed me that we are all human and we really are pretty similar. We all live, love, eat, cry, smile, and laugh; we are all one humanity despite our “differences.” I found it interesting there was a fair amount of animals being butchered, it was interesting. I also found it interesting how personal people were and what they revealed about themselves. I was surprised that people all over the world are so similar…all we all want is to be known and accepted. It gives me hope, that maybe we can just be one humanity and one big family! ❤

  5. Kirk P January 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    The “Life in a Day” film shows the different ways life is lived by different people around the world. I found the things people had in their pockets interesting. I think that section of the film was the most interesting because lots of people have different things in their pockets. What i found shocking was the guy who ate the egg that had an undeveloped chick inside it.

  6. Tori La Niña January 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I found the video to be extremely interesting. The different stories of people around the world’s lives was so different from what I know and what I do on a day to day basis. I am now a vegetarian, the way that they slaughtered the animals got to me in a way that I cannot even explain. Just the blatant disrespect for life is ridiculous, I could never and would never treat someone or something in that way. I understand that it is a food source, but just because animals cannot speak does not mean they do not have emotions and do not feel pain. This video captivated me and got me so excited to make my own.

  7. sjz000three January 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I found it very interesting what traditions were practiced in different cultures, how people chose to go about their days, in positive or negative ways. I also found it compelling how much ambition some people had. Some people do everything from scratch to survive, cultivating cheeses and herding goats, while others fulfilled life dreams such as bicycling around the world. Seeing how so many different people live there lives, I begin to question myself on how much more genuine could I be? A lot of people from non-western society’s have no concerns on such matters.

    • jonah zilberg January 19, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      – jonah zilberg

  8. ser5599 January 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    The “Life in a DAy” film shows that life is experienced differently through the eyes of people that live in different cultures. Some people have much more complex lives to live like in Africa you have to walk a long distance in order to get water whereas in places like New York all you have to do is go into the kitchen and turn a knob. I found it interesting that near the end of the video they decided to show some footage of some traumatizing events. For example during the LoveParade people were injured and killed during a stampede and in another place there were forest fires and buildings collapsing. I also found that shocking as well.
    -Evelyn

  9. Nasyria Taylor January 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    The film expresses that everyone around the world tend to do the same thing in one day but just in different ways. The whole film was about that there are some good days and bad and especially no perfect days. Just live life how it is and accept as it is important as any day. I was interested in to see how people other than people in the west civilization take on just one day. I was surprised that some way of life was actually similar to mine.

  10. Gianni S January 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    I found it interesting how SO many people actally took part in this. I like how they started it with the guy who was saying this was the best day ever and ended it with the women who was speaking pretty personally to the camera. Everyone in the video pretty much was showing themselves without hiding which i thought made the video more special and that surpised me because I would think people would have covered up certain things that wre shown.

  11. sdf2651 January 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    When watching the “Life in a Day” film, I found many things interesting. Such as how many differences yet similarities there were between people. Each person went about their day differently, yet surprisingly they all still had similarities. For instance, a common fear between all of the people in the film was “death”. In general, it surprised me that even though externally people seemed extremely different, but internally, people had similar thoughts and feelings.

  12. sfj4164 January 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    The film was really interesting and I loved seeing what it was like to see what people in countries across the globe do in a single day. Some of the things I saw were beautiful, amusing and exciting. Other things were frightening, and repulsive, and disturbing so I had to turn away. Something that I thought was really interesting was the guy who was traveling around the world with only his bike and a backpack. It hurt me to see cows and animals being slaughtered and prepared to be processed. I was surprised to see some of the conditions that some people live in.

  13. Eric January 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    What “Life in a Day” say about life is that you can live your life to the fullest, and have fun but some people cant do that. so they make the best of it. even if the best can be the worst. Through out the film, i noticed that depending on the theme or question the music tempo or genre changes. this is to show the urgency, anger, or suspension. i found this to be interesting because it actually had an effect on my view on the film. honestly the child birth and the slaughtering of the animas shocked me.

  14. sep4149 January 13, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    The ‘Life in The Day’ documentary portrayed the lives of so many interesting individuals exposing there everyday rituals, things they love, people they love, where they live there families. The documentary gave us a different look at what life is to everyone. The video gave an interesting look into the life of people you normally don’t think about. The little boy Abel who’s prized possession is his laptop who shines shoes for money. The man who is proud to live in his one bedroom home with his 14 family members. This video was raw and real, i enjoyed it.

  15. Shuruq Moftah January 15, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    The film, shows the way different people around the world lived, and how they went about their normal routines. I thought that the “Life in a Day” film was actually very interesting. I found it interesting how although we can be across the world from someone else we can do things in a similar way. Like eating breakfast, in the morning people all had breakfast. I found it surprising that around the world people lived differently and they all seemed to enjoy exactly the way they lived enough to actually document their days.

  16. Alize Feal January 15, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    The film “Life in a Day” showed me how people all around the world live life every day. This film really opened my eyes and showed me that not everyone is the same. I thought it was really interesting when people where saying the things that they fear because even though the people were so different, they shared common fears such as losing someone that they love, or spiders. The ending really surprised me the most because based on the way the film started I didn’t think the ending would be so dark, and have a “depressing” vibe to it. It just showed how things don’t always go the way you want them to and that’s just how life is sometimes.

  17. katyakahl January 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Life in a day shows that people all over the world have a lot in common. More than you might think. people all over the world said that their worst fear was being alone or their loved ones dying. Eating breakfast was also very interesting. most people ate either pancakes or eggs, other were already out working when people were eating breakfast. i thought it was interesting to see everyones jobs, like that one lady who went out at dawn to buy food to give as a sacrifice. even though we are in different cultures we have similarities.

  18. Bora January 17, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    It was interesting to see how people all around the world live their life. I know what I do on a day to day basis, what I never though about is what others do from the moment they wake up to the moment they are asleep. What strikes me the most is how these people go about their day. There were so many different rituals and ways of life in this film. For example, a little Asian boy (don’t exactly remember where this took place) woke up every morning and lit an incense by his dead mothers photo while ringing a bell. It was his way of saying good morning to his mother who wasn’t there, as well as honoring her.

  19. Chanel Mowatt January 17, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    This was the second time that I watched the Life in a Day film and I think that I now understand the meaning of it. Life in a Day shows us that no matter where we are in the world we do a lot of the same things, but maybe in just different ways. For example, taking a shower was differently everywhere in the world. Some people used tubs and others used buckets, but they were still getting the same task done. I found it interesting how when it came to themes like what do you fear and what do you love there was very little diversity. In the what do you love one everyone said something along the lines of family, God, or an activity that they do. Also the contents of peoples pockets was very interesting. I found the conditions in which sleep suprising because some people were comfortable on cardboard and others weren’t in beds. Some adults also let their children sleep on the uncomfortable location while they got the good one. The Life in a Day film is an eyeopener that makes you more aware of the lives that those who you do not see lead versus those around you.

Leave a Reply

