Sixteen B / Planning the final project

10 Feb

PINK CARD: What subcultures are you thinking about documenting? Explain your relationship to these subcultures, and why you’re interested in filming them. On one side of your pink card, write your name and your answers to these questions. On the reverse, record feedback from a colleague.

GREEN CARD: What ideas do you have for documenting your subculture/s? Be specific about who/what you intend to film. The purpose of this is to begin thinking about general themes or topics you’d like to include, and to help others give you feedback on what you can add. On one side of your green card, write your name and your answers to these questions. On the reverse, record feedback from a colleague.

If you’re stuck: Take a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subculture for a list of ideas to get you started, and talk to your colleagues about their plans.

To push your ideas further: Research your specific topic. Read about it, find videos about it. What have other anthropologists written about your subculture? Do you agree or disagree with their findings?

At the end of class: Post a comment on this post to discuss the progress you made today toward identifying a subculture and thinking about how you will document it. I encourage you to credit your colleagues who may have helped you advance your thinking.

18 Responses to “Sixteen B / Planning the final project”

  1. mollysigner February 10, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Today in class I was able to identify the subculture I want to do, which is adoption. In addition I was able to generate questions for the adopter/adoptie and ideas of how I want the film to go. I feel like I might do a series of interviews mixed with “intimate” moments between the family and possible days. (Adoption day, days that celebrate the adoptie’s culture, etc.) With help from Ming, Christy, Izzy, Eli and Danny I was able to come to an idea of whata I want to do with my final project so THANKS!

  2. Kendell Webb February 10, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I am going to document gamers.

  3. Brittany Muscat February 10, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Today in class, I learned that I can use cultures, therefore I chose Maltese youth sub- culture. I will document and interview maltese people and create a bunch of questions that I will ask them. I will show what maltese people do during the day. The only maltese people I have with me in new york is my family members (my father, my brother and my sister) and some cousins. I could film my brother and show what he does during the day and the weekends.

  4. nunezchloe February 10, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    I am still unclear as to what subculture or culture I want to document. I have came up with a few ideas – Mormons, Muslims, or Techies. Although I think these would all make for a good documentary, none of them really strike me as something that could be really good. I’m still stuck. I’m not sure as to how I’m going to document it because I think it would vary depending on which (sub)culture I pick. I know I’m going to be working alone though; that seems to be the only thing I’m sure of at this point.
    HELP!!!! D:

  5. Christy C. February 10, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Today, in Sixteen I was thinking of documenting the Chinese Culture since I know a lot about it. I’m interested in filming this because it’s exciting and there could be many people who would like to know about it. I was able to come up with some questions in class and I’m planning on interviewing my close friends who speaks the same foreign language as me and my family members (my grandparents & parents) I’m also planning on putting my video together with interviews, parts of what my family members do at home, baptism, etc.

  6. jessicakoneval February 10, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Today, I figured out which subculture I want to document; J.A.P’s (Jewish American Princess’.) I also realized what i want to get across in this documentary. I want to do a comparison to how J.A.P’s get treated compared to ‘normal’ girls. To get this across, I’m going to do something like in the Puerto Rican video we watched. One day I’m going to dress up as a J.A.P and see how people respond to me, and the next I will dress and act how I normally do, to see the difference. I will also interview people who are considered to be J.A.P’s. I’m looking forward to doing it!

  7. iWowk February 10, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    At first I was interested in documenting “adoption”; until I realized it was not a prominent subculture in society; let a lone a full-blown subculture at all. But then I decided to document the subculture–Ultimate Frisbee. For the past 2 summers I played every day at camp and occasionally play on weekends with college students. I guess the progress I made was that I was able to pull out subcultures that were easy to identify yet would be a good challenge for me.
    I think I will document the subculture by documenting a single game along with interviews. A lot of my footage will be of people playing a game with voice overs; interviews here and there. I am also thinking about adding in some P.O.V. shots–in terms of interviews, I will try to get interviews of the players themselves, as well as people who know how to play (i.e. Eli)

    +People that have helped me reach this conclusion for my subculture project: Christy, Eli, Ms. Jenkins

    🙂

  8. Nathalie February 10, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Today I identified the Dominican subculture which i am apart of. i think it would be interesting to film my own culture and how my family members interact with one another. I hope to film and interview my family members during certain holidays. The point of my film will be to define what it means to be in the Dominican culture and what makes us proud to be a Dominican. This will give the audience an idea of the traditions and beliefs of the specific subculture.

  9. mingrc February 10, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I decided I’m going to be documenting the Anime subculture. I don’t know a lot about it and I have always wondered why people like screaming cartoons. I think it’ll be really interesting documenting and learning about it at the same time.
    I was contemplating on whether or not I should choose mental illness or Anime and I realized that if I chose mental illness then I wouldn’t have access to people for interviews because a lot of them are in hospitals. I’m planning on interviewing people and filming people drawing anime cartoons.

  10. Julissa Bonilla February 10, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Alyssa and I are going to do Justin Bieber Beliebers. We are going to interview beliebers and get footage of beliebers meeting Justin. Try to get a big twitter belieber to skype with us so we can record it. Another thing we might do is get clips from the movie that had to do with his fans because some of our friends were in the movie. Also, like show his you tube channel and tumblrs that are just dedicated to him. And show how beliebers share this special friendship because of their love for him.

  11. Jon-Paul Jones February 10, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Today I found out which subculture I will document. I feel like the easiest subculture to document is probably the Dominican subculture simply because I am part of this subculture and m family spends lots of time together therefore its the best subculture to document for me.

  12. choppamaster96 February 10, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Today in class I had time to think about what subculture I want to document for my final project. I have no decided what i want to do yet, but have narrowed it down to a few categories. Those categories are skaters, the “party type” (I still need to find a more definite name for them) or people who rebel. If i did a video on kids who rebel, that would include many subcultures, which may be more interesting or just flat out confusing. I have a lot of thinking to do, but also have a good idea of what I’m going to do.

    -His Loftiness Timothy

  13. Alyssa Prescott February 10, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Julissa and I are going to do Justin Bieber Beliebers. We are going to interview beliebers and get footage of beliebers meeting Justin. Try to get a big twitter belieber to skype with us so we can record it. Another thing we might do is get clips from the movie that had to do with his fans because some of our friends were in the movie. Also, like show his you tube channel and tumblrs that are just dedicated to him. And show how beliebers share this special friendship because of their love for him.

  14. smr1484 February 10, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I don’t know what I’m doing yet… but so far I have something online related, a celebrity, chinese culture or sneakerheads…

  15. David R February 10, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    I found out the different types of subcultures and which subcultures that really caught my attention and I find really interesting. I am thinking in doing my documentary on gaming and the general aspects of gaming. I know a lot of people that are in the gaming community that I know would like to help me in making this documentary.

  16. snb2236 February 10, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    I still do not really know what to document on. I was thinking of documenting different groups of teenagers to see what they do in their free time and the things they do. I also had another idea on documenting on cancer patients but it might be difficult to do this since i don’t know anyone who has cancer.

  17. Zineb Ouachtouki February 10, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    I am going to document Muslim teens and how life is for them growing up after 9/11 even though they were too young to remember. I will document girls that wear headscarfs and see if life is different for them walking outside

  18. Aaron Midyette February 22, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Subculture: Bronies
    I’ll interview the some members of the subculture and those who are opposed to it.

Leave a Reply

