Sixteen A > Subcultures!

13 Feb

We’re going to take a look at a few documentaries that examine different subcultures:
Lolita: http://vimeo.com/30930981
Furries: http://vimeo.com/17995012
Dungeons and Dragons: http://vimeo.com/8026668
Gamers: http://vimeo.com/31266513
Possibly related to sneakers: http://vimeo.com/26788975

I encourage you to watch any/all of these. As you watch them, think about what defines + distinguishes these subcultures as distinct communities, and consider how successfully these documentaries depict those communities.

By the end of class:
Post a comment on this post reflecting on any or all of the films you watched today, and include any ideas you have at this point about what subculture you might want to document for your final project. I encourage you to respond to each other’s comments with helpful suggestions/questions.

Examples we discussed earlier include: punk, riot grrrl, goth, hardcore, hip-hop, skateboarding, graffiti, gaming, straight-edge, sneakerheads, otaku, fandom, etc. Additionally: ethnic (Dominican, Chinese, etc), deaf, and other subcultures that aren’t specifically youth oriented

22 Responses to “Sixteen A > Subcultures!”

  1. Kirk Pressley February 14, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    The Film i watch about the man who is a sneaker designer was very interesting. I found it interesting how since he was a child he always had this image of him being different from everyone else. He would customize his old clothes and make it appeal to what he likes. Im not sure what I want to do for my subculture but maybe something with sports.

  2. Etisyai Pollard February 14, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I watched the Lolita video, the people who are involved in this subculture are really brave, i think. Being that the lolita culture is always expressed because its the way they dress and they cant necessarily hide it or only involve themselves at night like the people who were part of the undergrounds bands and etc.

    I think the sub-culture I’m gonna focus on is either sneaker heads or hypebeast.

    • Gianni S February 14, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      posted by gianni

  3. Raymond Frias February 14, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    The films were very weird like the Lolita one because I’m not used to looking at people dress that way and they look like dolls. I think the films gave me ideas on what i should do and how i should do it. They did it on things they like to do. I think I’m going to do my final project on sports and how are sports a major part of a sixteen year old.

  4. rachelvicioso February 14, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    I, for one, was kind of surprised about these videos. I never knew that people could become to passionate about what they do (let it be Lolita Fashion or even gaming) that they would spend all their life (and money) on it. I plan to make a video on anime Fans and why they seem to like anime.

  5. Boronica Metaliaj February 14, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    I watched the Lolitas video, about girls who are obsessed with very cute, bright, white or pink clothing. As I watched them, I thought to myself, “wow it’s halloween everyday for them,” but then I realized, although it may not make sense to me, it is a lifestyle for them. I understand their style because I have a style of my own, we all do. We wear what makes us feel comfortable, be it revealing or not, we wear the clothing we believe looks good on us. As far as they’re concerned, Lolitas are fashionable and different; the clothing they wear is very girly and “CUTE.” They are so concerned with looking cute, they almost look like larger babies.

    My partner and I have also decided what we’re going to work on for our final project: genders stereotypes, double standards, and how each of these things effect 16 year olds. We will expand as we move forward; we decided to work on this because we see gender stereotypes every single day. We will cover topics such as curfews of boys and girls, expectations of each gender, gender groupings/labels, etc.

    • Tori La Niña February 14, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      We are not saying what our topic is 🙂 TOP SECRET

  6. ser5599 February 14, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    I managed to watch part of the Furries video and the entire video of the Lolita style. I found the Furries video to be quiet disturbing. I don’t understand why people would want to dress as animals with clothing. I found the Lolita style video to be very interesting. I like the style I think its cute. I have somewhat of an idea of what subculture i want to do but Im not entirely sure yet.

  7. katyakahl February 14, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I watched the Dungeons and Dragons video. It seems as though the people who are playing this are people that dont have a very great social life and they make their charcters who they wish to be in real life.

    I think i am going to do my subculture video about “Gleeks”

  8. sdz1620 February 14, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    The first film I watched was the Lolita one. I didn’t think it was that weird, but I was surprised how open everyone was about being a fan of it. The video showed that some people only own Lolita based things, and there’s no way to hide that for formal things that they might want to. This subculture seems like it also makes it particularly hard to reach out or associate with other subcultures, so all of their friends would have to like Lolita also.
    I also watched the video that was about 138 and designing sneakers. I didn’t realize how serious he was about his designing, and I think that him caring so much about his designing changed his outlook on everything.

  9. Gianni S February 14, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    I watched the Lolita video, the people who are involved in this subculture are really brave, i think. Being that the lolita culture is always expressed because its the way they dress and they cant necessarily hide it or only involve themselves at night like the people who were part of the undergrounds bands and etc.

    I think the sub-culture I’m gonna focus on is either sneaker heads or hypebeast.

  10. Nasyria Taylor February 14, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    The Lolita film was interesting. I did not know people dressed like that, even if they did who knew it was possible to make it an everyday outfit. It’s strange how they got caught up in that whole subculture. Even in the Furries film, it was interesting as well. I think these two subcultures are different.

  11. sdf2651 February 14, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    I was quite surprised that the people featured in these documentaries were so passionate and open about what they do. I was also quite surprised that the people interviewed were able to discuss what they do so easily, which does take quite a bit of bravery. I also find it interesting how some of the people in the documentaries express the type of people they want to be through fictional characters. I think that I will be documenting gamers.

  12. Ashley Guevara February 14, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    The films showed me that some people are into things that are either similar or extremely different then what Im normally exposed/used to. An idea I have for my subculture project is “internet fame” which is pretty self-explanotory. I want my project to be on people who’s lives somewhat revolve on the internet, for example tumblr “famous” people (no matter how much I hate using that term).

  13. Sami K-L February 14, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    All of the films stuck with me in different ways. The Lolita subculture is something I am interested in but know nothing about. I like how the video gave me a brief description of the sub-culture and how it works. I find the Lolita style very cute!!
    I like how Furries are described as “weird” but a “good” weird. It’s interesting how people can band together over something as “simple” as dressing like animals and creating an alternate personality. I like to give myself different names, so I totally get the interest in creating alternate personalities.
    The only thing I can say about D&D is that I think it is really, really cool! I want to start doing it!!! It seems that D&D people might be kind of socially awkward, but I love my socially awkward pplz.
    I really liked the gamer film because of the soundtrack. I was really excited that the editor used 8-bit/chiptune music that he produced himself. I am totally going to get the soundtrack off of his soundcloud now! I love that people take older consoles and modernize the sound and do new things with them.

    I might want to do my video on the role of Devianart in art, music, expression etc. Devianart has had a very big role in shaping internet culture along with 4-Chan, Knowyourmeme, and 2-Chan from Japan. I know a lot of people on devianart and I could interview them.
    Another thing I am thinking about doing my video on is that 8-bit/chiptune music scene. Using old game consoles to create music, this subculture has appeared fairly recently and is huge among my generation. I know people who are fans of 8-bit like me (I AM A HUGE FAN). There is this band ANAMANAGUCHI from Williamsburgh that I love, and maybe I could interview them.
    Another thing I could do my video on is the gothic subculture. I know people who are part of that culture, and would love to dig deeper into what it means to be goth, through music, dress, thoughts, etc.

  14. scn1829 February 14, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    I feel as if all these subcultures are documented through people that are really involved. I wouldn’t want to make a subculture film on a scene that I know nothing about. I’m probably gonna make a film about hip hop, including interviews, film of people rapping, what they think “hip hop really is” etc. I want to film a wide range of friends rapping, hopefully get footage from a real concert, and provide a strong sense of hip hop culture.

  15. Alize Feal February 14, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    The film that I watched was about the Lolita. What I found the most interesting about the film was the reason behind the way that some of the girls were dressing. Like one of the girls in the video said that she dressed up because it made her feel like a kid again while she is an adult. For my final project I was considering doing it about people who’s life is based around the internet.

  16. sep4149 February 14, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    After watching most of these videos on subcultures I can see that a subculture can define who you are as a person and can take up all your time change your lifestyle and become who you are. For example, the Lolita is something that takes money to keep up with the fashions of the subculture. And as for the Dungeons and Dragons it takes time and it changes the lifestyle of the people who play. They can express themselves with the game and feel comfortable sharing the game with others. Subcultures find a way of taking something your passionate about and sharing it with a group of people letting yourself be comfortable in the culture no matter if it looks ‘normal’ to anyone looking from the outside.

  17. sjz0003 February 14, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    I feel as if all these subcultures are documented through people that are really involved. I wouldn’t want to make a subculture film on a scene that I know nothing about. I’m probably gonna make a film about hip hop, including interviews, film of people rapping, what they think “hip hop really is” etc. I want to film a wide range of friends rapping, hopefully get footage from a real concert, and provide a strong sense of hip hop culture.-someone left account on its jonahs comment

  18. Eric Gomez February 14, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    The film i watched was the video-gamers/game designers, and one thing i noticed is that almost all of sub cultures appreciate one common thing. for example, the game designers really appreciate older games like the original Game-Boy and Nintendo entertainment system. they modify it to do things they wish such as make music with the gameboy and tweak the NES to be compatible with the Gameboy itself.

  19. scn1829 February 14, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Many of the people in these videos have been into this “sub-culture” for many years and this is now a part of their life and they are trying to make a good out of it. In the Lolita video, girls and guys spend so much money to look like a Japanese and Furrys are people that dress like fluffy characters. These look interesting but wouldnt try it. Many of these people want to express them selves and to look different from other people.

  20. Chanel Mowatt February 16, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I watched the Lolita film and I think that this subculture was very interesting. They are very brave for dressing the way that they do everyday and making a fashion statement on their own terms. They don’t hide who they are they embrass it with their clothes which is really interesting because people sometimes hide behind clothing just to seem “normal”. They are really involved in their subculture which is what makes them truly cool to me.

Leave a Reply

