Reflecting on The Spirit Catches You – Chapter 5

26 Nov

How do you feel about the Lees’ refusal to give Lia her medicine? Can you understand their motivation? Do you empathize with it?

13 Responses to “Reflecting on The Spirit Catches You – Chapter 5”

  1. Adam vajdak November 26, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    I feel that the Lees’ refusal was justified because they did not know what the doctors where giving her and they did not trust them. I understand their motivation and i myself do not trust doctors completely since i have had some doctors make mistakes on my treatment, the system is flawed. I do empathize with it.

    Adam Vajdak

  2. dietmtndew16 November 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    The lees’ not giving Lia her medicine can easily been seen a reckless by child protective services, and local governments but they were doing what they thought was best for their child. I empathize with the Lee family because they cared about their youngest daughter more than anything in the world. She was precious, and they were just trying to protect one of their own.

    • Trevor Turner November 26, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      I agree with this because they did care for her a lot but I think she they should have gave her the medicine because it would help her more and it would cure her faster

  3. madelinej8 November 26, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    I do empathize with the Lee’s situation. They do not know the language and they cant follow the directions of the medicine. Also their culture complicates things more. I think that the doctors should have considered the Lee’s problem with the english language, switching medicines often confused the Lee’s more and made them believe that the medicines was what made Lia more sick.

  4. nicksulis November 26, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    I believe that the Lees are being unfair to the Lia and her health, even though their opinion on the medications are different than that of an educated doctor. I do, although, understand their motivation because they come from a culture where their opinion, naturally, over rules that of someone, like a doctor, that they view as a lesser power. I also do understand the pain they are enduring for their loss, and the pain of watching your way of life being manipulated and disgraced.

  5. smw8884 November 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Martha Willey
    I think that it makes sense that the family wouldn’t give Lia the medicine. The family really didn’t understand what was happening and they didn’t understand the American culture which made it hard for them to trust the medicines. They felt that the best way to treat her was to sacrifice animals and prey opposed to use medicine. This then caused a complete cultural clash between them and made them not want to give her medicines.

  6. musamatiwane November 26, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    Yes, I can understand his motivation. I believe that he has the complete right to believe this because of the poor treatment she received. Also as a father he also has the right to care for his child, and when his child falls off the hospital bed I think his reaction was fair.

  7. rachaelf34 November 26, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    I think that maybe if the family seen she wasn’t getting better they would of said something sooner.

  8. luthfab November 26, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I feel that Lee’s refusal on not giving the medicine to Lia is fair because since the medicine isn’t really helping her can make her feel her more worse and it can affect her even more. Also since her parents don’t know any english they might be very confused on all the medicine that are being to give to Lia since there are a lot of it

  9. Daniel Rosario November 26, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    chapter 7
    I think that the Doctor should lower his standard of care for Lia because the parents are merely wasting resources when it could be going to a patient who can actually benefit from taking the meds it.

    I agree with the US law that lets adults choose what life med they can take yet children cannot because children can’t make threatening decisions for them self yet.

    I think that Neil made the right decision when he choose to call Child services on them because the parents were potentially harming Lia by not administering the proper amount if at all of Meds.

  10. tainas2 November 26, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    The Lee’s refused to give Lia the medicine because they felt that it wasn’t working and they thought she was getting worse due to the side effects. They also refused to go through with certain treatment because it went against their cultural beliefs. I understand why they didn’t give her the medication but I think that when it comes to the life of their daughter they should have put their beliefs aside and do whatever would help Lia get better.

  11. Jonathan Neroulias November 28, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    How do you feel about the Lees’ refusal to give Lia her medicine? Can you understand their motivation? Do you empathize with it?
    I think that the Lee’s refusal to give Lia her medicine is understandable, but it is not the right choice regarding the situation. If Lia didn’t have such a life threatening illness than I would agree with their point of view. I can empathize with the Lee’s because my parents have done the same for me when they thought the prescribed medicine wasn’t helping or when alternative methods seem to have more of a positive affect.
    Ultimately, however, I think that the Lee’s should have stuck with cultural medicine/remedies in the beginning, and risk the chance of Lia dying to realize that Western medicine can be much more effective.

  12. maxleu December 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I believe that although it seemed reckless for the Lees to not give Lia her medicine to them it was the right thing to do. I can emphasize with the Lees because they are doing what they believe is best for their child and I think any parents would do what they believe is best for their child.

Leave a Reply

